• Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon

Contact Us

Sandwich Chamber of Commerce

520 Route 130

Sandwich, MA 02563
United States

Directions
Telephone: 508-681-0918
Email: info@sandwichchamber.com 

Hours: Monday-Sunday 10 am - 4 pm

CM.JPG

Sandwich Museums

Sandwich offers spectacular museums that depict the history and life of the town.

Benjamin Nye Homestead & Museum

Spend an afternoon at the Nye Museum, just off Route 6A near the East Sandwich Post Office. Located on a beautiful 3-acre homestead established by Benjamin Nye in 1678, the Nye Museum is a professionally staffed non-profit organization. Its mission is to preserve and promote three historic landmarks: a 1678 Colonial Farmhouse, an 1858 Grist Mill and Mill Museum, and our 1889 Grange Hall & Welcome Center. Join us for guided tours, special events, or a relaxing stroll through our grounds and trails. Serene, inviting, and brimming with local history, the Nye Museum will transport you back to colonial times.

Dexter Grist Mill

The Dexter Grist Mill is one of the most photographed sites on Cape Cod. The mill overlooks Shawmee Pond and is bordered by the Town Hall, herring run, picturesque colonial homes, and a cemetery dated back to the 1600s.

Green Briar Nature Center

The Green Briar Nature Center offers live animal exhibits, nature trails, a library and a spectacular wildflower garden. Natural history programs are offered for children and adults year round. Green Briar is also the home of the historic Green Briar Jam Kitchen which has been making jams, jellies and preserves since 1903.

Heritage Museums & Gardens is a magnet for people who enjoy the benefits of outdoor discovery and the exhibition of great historic and horticultural collections. Featuring gems of the automotive world, an outdoor family discovery garden, a vintage carousel, a permanent collection of American art, a special exhibit that changes annually, and family-friendly programs.

Hoxie House

Take a trip back in time. The Hoxie House reflects life in the town of Sandwich in the 17th-century. This saltbox is named after a whaling captain who owned the house in the mid-1800s. The Hoxie House is a first-period house restored and furnished to reflect early colonial construction with many interesting features such as gunstock posts, pumpkin-pine Maine beams, and wide floorboards.

The Sandwich Glass Museum interprets the history of the town and its glass industry. Exhibits of glass and historical items tell the story of the town's greatest contribution to the American Industrial Revolution.

Wing Fort House

Built in 1641, the Wing Fort House is the oldest house in New England owned and operated continuously by the same family over three centuries. Now restored, it is furnished almost entirely with Wing family antiques showing the different periods of its unique history.

Please reload